Many Types of Vegetarians

A vegetarian is someone who doesn't eat meat, and mostly eats foods that come from plants, like grains, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. Some stricter vegetarians avoid more than just meat. They also avoid animal products, which are nonmeat foods that come from animals. Some examples would be milk (from cows) and eggs (from chickens).

There are many kinds of vegetarians. Here are some of them:

• lacto-ovo vegetarian: eats no meat, but will eat dairy products (milk, butter, cheese) and eggs

• ovo-vegetarian: eats eggs, but no meat or dairy products

• vegan: eats no meat or animal products

And many other people are semi-vegetarians who don't eat meat, but may eat poultry or fish.

Why Are People Vegetarians?

People have different reasons for becoming vegetarians. Some follow vegetarian or semi-vegetarian diets for health reasons. For instance, a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and grains tends to be low in fat and cholesterol, which is good for your heart. It's also likely to be high in fiber and can be lower in calories.

Concern for animals and environmental reasons are also cited by vegetarians when they explain why they don't eat meat. In addition, some cultures and religions have vegetarian diets.

magic hands